A look into Canadian firearm ownership laws

July 26, 2018
Article Source
CTV News

From a CTV News item: A look at firearm regulations in Canada:

Types of firearms

Canadian law separates guns into three different categories: non-restricted, restricted and prohibited. A licence, obtained through a process that includes background checks and safety training, is needed to own any type of gun in Canada.

Non-restricted guns include regular rifles and shotguns.

Prohibited guns, which include automatic weapons as well as sawed-off shotguns and rifles under a certain length, handguns under a certain length and handguns that fire 25- or 32-calibre bullets, can be possessed by licensed owners who acquired them before current laws came into place. Those dates vary depending on the type of gun. There are some exceptions, however, such as guns made before 1946 and registered on Dec. 1, 1998.

Restricted firearms include any non-prohibited handgun, any gun that can still be fired when folded or telescoped below a certain length, and any semi-automatic gun with a barrel shorter than 470 mm and the capability of shooting centrefire bullets -- a type of ammunition that is fired by striking a firing pin or hammer against a cap or primer at the centre of the bullet's base.

You must have a licence to possess or acquire a restricted gun or its ammunition. You must also register your restricted gun and have it "verified" by RCMP-approved experts.

Read more: A look into Canadian firearm ownership laws